Fish on the move in a run/pool

Discus tips on techniques, styles and tactics here
tomi

Fish on the move in a run/pool

Post by tomi » Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:41 pm

Hi new to the forum, i'm a novice flyfisher into my second full season and very much hooked. I''m through the stage of spending more time untangling things the actually fishing and hoping for some advice?

I live in Dunedin and today was fishing solo in the upperish reaches of a river in West otago about 2 hours away. I was sight fishing, it was about 28 degrees and tied on a cicada as i left my ute as i could hear them and it was quite breezy. I didn't spot many fish which i think is normal for this part of this river, but was trying to spot them from an elevated position.

The first one i spotted was a reasonable size (for me) in the middle of a run, i saw him from an elevated spot well out of his field of vision, i immediately ducked down behind some long grass to see how he was feeding and change fly as there weren't many cicadas on the water. After about 10-15 seconds he moved forward through the run into some shadows under the willows and i lost him. Next fish similar story but in the head of a pool and moved down to the tail then out of vision, next one i spotted as it was moving downstream in a riffle and a fourth followed the same pattern.

This brings me to my question of how you approach this situation? i figured i could either

1) fish blind to a likely spot in the direction this fish moved (tried it didn't work)
2) Wait around to see if it moves back to initial position( it didn't)
3) try to follow it downstream to try and follow it (it could swim faster than i could scramble along the bank)
4) give up on the fish and keep walking up stream to find the next one (didn't do this one)