Coming from Kaua'i, Hawai'i

The place for all your fishing and travel queries
evbouret

Coming from Kaua'i, Hawai'i

Post by evbouret » Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:48 am

Hey everyone, I'll be visiting the North Island of Aotearoa for most of the month of May. Looking to get into some decent streams up near Bay of Plenty/Eastland/Hawkes Bay/Rotorua are. I am an avid fisherman and backcountry hunter here in Hawai'i. Our land based game and terrain is very similar to what you guys hunt in over there. I mainly chase pigs but we also have blacktail deer and goats to hunt. I have been fishing heavily for about 15 years and consider myself a capable offshore/inshore saltwater fisherman, kayak fisherman and freshwater bass fisherman. My fly fishing skills are somewhat limited but I understand the basics (I think :) ). I visited your country in 2007 or so for about two monthes and did a lot of fishing and surfing. Caught a few decent fish on nymphs, and a lot of small ones on a variety of dries.

I was wondering if anyone had any tips on equipment I'll need, flies I should bring? Any rivers I should check out with a decent population of trout and not too crowded? I'm honestly looking to get away from people and am not scared to hike a few miles to get there. I am bush wise and will not wander into my death. I can understand if you guys are skeptical of putting names or locations on here. PM me if you want to have a chat.

Aloha from Hawai'i and I look forward to sneaking around the NZ streams!

(I tried to attach some pics….no luck)

Johnno

Re: Coming from Kaua'i, Hawai'i

Post by Johnno » Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:36 pm

You are really going to be restricted to the lakes and rivers of Taupo and Rotorua Lakes areas. The main season ends at the end of April and that'll put the kibosh on the streams of the BoP, Hawkes Bay East Coast etc. what fishing you'll have wont be exactly wilderness fishing.....

evbouret

Post by evbouret » Tue Apr 14, 2015 4:45 am